Monday, March 4, 2013

International Adventures: Don't Touch That Dial.

I have just returned from a fabulous weekend adventure with Diane and two new friends. I picked up Diane at the Sheikh Hussein Border Crossing on Friday morning and we spent the day together in Madaba. She got the chance to see where I work and live. We had a nice dinner at Haret Jdoudna, a really fine restaurant here in Madaba and then stayed one night at Hotel Mariam. My apartment only has one bedroom containing a single bed and is definitely not suitable for the two of us, so we stayed at the Mariam.

Saturday morning we drove to Amman and picked up John and Carolyn at their hotel. From there we headed south to Petra on the Desert Highway. We picked them up around 10 am and were in Petra by 1pm. After we settled into our rooms we walked into Petra at about 3pm and walked and took pictures for about 3.5 hours. Yesterday we went in about 10am and spent several hours walking and looking and photographing various aspects of Petra. This morning we had breakfast, loaded up the car and headed north. We stopped in Madaba for lunch and then I delivered the other three travelers to the King Hussein/Allenby Bridge border crossing. I came home to my apartment in Madaba and have spent the past couple of hours downloading the 162 pictures I took while there and doing a first look at them.

I am not ready to write my post about Petra, but will do so in the next day or so. There are many good pictures (at least I think so) and I want to tell a story that matches what I saw. It will take a couple of hours to do it justice and I don't want to start that now at 8:30 p.m.

Stay Tuned.

No comments:

These are the things that interest me. If any of them are of interest to you, great. Read along


About Me

My photo
I'm currently 60 years old. I currently work as the learning management system specialist for American University of Madaba in Madaba, Jordan. I was originally certified as a high-school English teacher and taught school for 13 years (1 year of substituting, 1 year of 7th grade, 2 years of a combined 5th, 6th, 7th grade, 9 years of 8th grade). I've worked for hardware and software companies for the past 23 years doing training, training materials development, certification test development and other education related stuff. My wife and I have raised four children to adulthood; some of them live at home at the moment, but that won't last (they're too independent for that). We live at home with 2 Golden Retrievers, 2 black cats, a crazy cat, and, during the winter, 70,000 coho salmon.